Rains and a tragic story

I love rains in Bangalore. If you can get to a height of about 40 meters, you can watch the grandeur of the nature without any obstructions. This is not possible in most of the south Indians towns as hills and hillocks crisscross the peninsula.

It rained and rained on Friday and this is what I saw, standing in the 13th floor balcony of my office building

Rain_in_Bangalore
Rains are unwelcome in Bangalore. It takes a good shower to throw the city in to absolute chaos. But in any case nature chooses to make a mockery of the great human plans once a while.

If you thought it was only humans who disliked rains, here is a tragic story that would reveal some truth.

While we were away few weeks back, a pigeon family quietly settled down in the balcony of my apartment. By the time I had found them out, behind some containers placed on the balcony, the lady had already laid two eggs and was incubating them. I decided not to trouble them. Every time I stepped on to the balcony I used to curiously peep in to their home to find her sitting on her eggs and trembling with fear. I used to talk something to her, just to convey to her that I meant no harm (I guess she got the message soon and was looking more comfortable). The male used to only make intermittent visits (which sort of forced me to assume that he was having another affair somewhere else)

As I stepped in to balcony the morning after the rains, she was sitting on the railings and was weeping. There was no mistaking for the agony in her voice and in a flash I understood what happened. As I peeped in to their home, I discovered that both the eggs were drenched in the down pour.

The pigeon flew away and sat on the next building for a long time. It was alone, wet and very sad.

The two eggs were lying there, abandoned, like two crystallised tear drops.

Pigeon eggs

5 thoughts on “Rains and a tragic story

    1. Sajeev Post author

      I was aways inclined to think that these birds have a very short memory. I was wrong. The day after the above incident, when I stepped on to the balcony, the bird was there sitting on the railings (not sure if it was the father, who was visiting). It flew away seeing me and I have never seen them again.

      Reply
  1. Thiyagarajan

    Sajeev… I like the small blogs that you keep writing. Most of the ones i’ve read are simple but are a good diversion for my mindset which is always in a mix of worries.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

