Dreams and Feelings

So much has been written about dreams, but it’s still a great experience to dream. What do dreams convey? I have had several experiences where subtle feelings are expressed in dreams. Here are two recent dreams.

1)This happened few days back. I had been working in the balcony in the evening and left my laptop there. As I went to bed at night I remembered that the laptop was left at the balcony and someone could steal it. I got up, brought the laptop in and went to sleep. And that night I had the following dream.

I had boarded a bus at a strange hilly region. The bus had travelled some distance when I realized that I had boarded the wrong one. I decided to get down. My bags, including the laptop bag, was kept at the back of the bus. As I moved to the back to pick them up, some strange people rushed past me. I reached the back to realize that the bags were missing and then it struck me that those people who rushed past had stolen my bags and laptop.

I think I woke up at that point….

2) I had an early flight to catch today morning. The taxi was to arrive at 5.00AM and this meant that I had to wake up at 4.30. Waking up early is something that I really hate.

I had set the alarm at 4.30 before I went to bed. I was in deep sleep when I heard the message alert tone from my mobile phone. I immediately understood that it was the message from the taxi company with the chauffeur details and confirming the pickup. The alarm was yet to ring (but I knew it was close) and I drifted back to sleep. Then I had this dream.

I was at some strange place with a group of friends. We were all leaving to some other place in what looked like early morning. Then suddenly I looked  at my watch and realized that it was only 1:30 AM (or so) and we had misunderstood the time. I informed my friends and proceeded to my room to sleep further.

The alarm went off and I was awake.

What had happened is when I heard the message alert tone, subconsciously I knew that I will need to wake up shortly. But then the subconscious mind expressed its desire to sleep through the dream

 What remains in the mind after the dreams is a very subtle feeling. In the first case it was fear and the in the second case it was a relief. Probably the unconscious mind attempts to express its feelings through dreams!

3 thoughts on “Dreams and Feelings

  1. reflectedelements

    Excellent blog on dreams and the unconscious. I have expressed a similar view in the past. Dreams seem to have the capacity to collide with the events in reality i.e. In my dream there would be an explosion, and then in reality there would be a loud bang to awaken me from my dream. This collision occurs is because during our dream, we have the capacity to hear the external world and tie that in with our dream. It is believed that the brain is actually functioning at a faster rate while we sleep, this could be a protective and primitive measure to allow us to react very sharply in this vulnerable state to an immediate danger such as a predator. I have much to discuss with you!

    Reply
  2. Sajeev Post author

    Thank you for your comments. I think it’s only during ceratin dreaming phases we tend to integrate external stimulii in to the dreams. I think it’s just before waking up.
    We should talk further on this. Unfortunately I could not find your blog?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

